## Rainfed Area Development Programme (RADP)

To ensure agriculture growth in the rainfed areas, this Department launched a new scheme "Rainfed Area Development Programme (RADP)" in the year 2011-12 as a sub-scheme under Rashtriya Krishi Vikas Yojana (RKVY). It aims at improving quality of life of farmers' especially, small and marginal farmers by offering a complete package of activities to maximize farm returns. RADP focuses on Integrated Farming System (IFS) for enhancing productivity and minimizing risks associated with climatic variabilities. During 2011-12, RADP was piloted in 10 states with an outlay of Rs. 250 crore. The broad objectives of the scheme are:

- *a)* Increasing agricultural productivity of rainfed areas in a sustainable manner by adopting appropriate farming system based approaches.
- b) To minimise the adverse impact of possible crop failure due to drought, flood or un-even rainfall distribution through diversified and composite farming system.
- c) Restoration of confidence in rainfed agriculture by creating sustained employment opportunities through improved on-farm technologies and cultivation practices
- d) Enhancement of farmer's income and livelihood support for reduction of poverty in rainfed areas
- e) Convergence of relevant developmental programmes in project area for optimal utilisation of resources by establishing an integrated and coordinated system involving different sectors and institutions.

The scheme has been extended to another 12 States in the year 2012-13 with allocation of 150 crore, By end of March, 2013, about 15260 clusters were taken up under integrated farming / cropping system covering about 2.62 lakh ha. benefitting about 4.0 lakh farmers. The year wise progress of the RADP is as under:

Expenditure Incurred		Area Covered		Farmers benefitted	
(Rs. In lakhs)		(In ha.)		(No.)	
2011-12	2012-13	2011-12	2012-13	2011-12	2012-13
178.2	157.3	139675	123313	195805	401547

The scheme is being continued for implementation during 2013-14 with an outlay of Rs. 250 crore in the States of Andhra Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Gujarat, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Odisha, Rajasthan, Tamil Nadu, Uttar Pradesh, Jharkhand, Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Manipur, Mizorum, Nagaland, Sikkim and Tripura.